≡ Menu

*** CALL TO ACTION ***

CALL TO ACTION

 

I received information from Senator Venables’ office today regarding the introduction of the legislation that requires Delaware citizens to report lost or stolen firearms. According to the Senator, even though nothing can technically happen with the bill until March 13 at the earliest, it is still possible that the bill has already been assigned a number and a committee.

However, and more importantly, it is also very possible that this is just a “feeler” bill. The legislature may be trying to gauge public perception, and decide how to proceed with the more draconian bills that are being proposed. Senator Venables believes that we are still on the losing side of a 11-10 vote, but he strongly believes that we cannot lose hope!

Because this is quite possibly a “feeler” bill, we need to make our voices heard NOW. Not tomorrow. Not next week. NOW. Contact your state Senator and tell him or her that we do not need this legislation, nor do we need any further gun control legislation. Tell your Senator that the right answer is to enforce the laws that are already on the books. Be firm, but be polite. We could easily swing one extra Senator over to our side, putting us on the winning side of a 11-10 vote, and we could also set the tone for the rest of the legislation that gets introduced.

We have a lot of work to do, and only a short time to do it. We need to make the calls NOW. We need to tell all of our friends to make calls NOW. Next week, call again. Send an e-mail NOW. Next week, send an e-mail again. The week after that, call and send an e-mail again.  Don’t let up just because you’ve made one call and sent one e-mail.  Keep up the pressure, and tell your friends and family to do the same thing.  We cannot lose this battle due to lack of action on our part.

We cannot let our Senators think that we are OK with this legislation. They need to know that passing more “gun control” laws will not solve the problem. Remind them that even Obama’s Justice Department has gone on record saying that new “gun control” laws will do nothing to solve the problem. How would Delaware be any different?
If you don’t know who your Senator is, you can go to the following website and find out:

http://pollingplace.delaware.gov/default.asp

Otherwise, here is a list of all of the Senators:

 

Senator Patricia M. Blevins (D-7)

(302) 744-4133

Patricia.Blevins@state.de.us

 

Senator Colin R. J. Bonini (R-16)

(302) 744-4169

senator-colin@prodigy.net

 

Senator Gerald W. Hocker (R-20)

(302) 744-4144

Gerald.Hocker@state.de.us

 

Senator Brian J. Bushweller (D-17)

(302) 744-4162

brian.bushweller@state.de.us

 

Senator Catherine L. Cloutier (R-5)

(302) 744-4197

cloutiercathy@aol.com

 

Senator Nicole Poore (D-12)

(302) 744-4164

Nicole.Poore@state.de.us

 

Senator David G. Lawson (R-15)

(302) 744-4237

Dave.Lawson@state.de.us

 

Senator Bryan Townsend (D-11)

(302) 744-4165

Bryan.Townsend@state.de.us

 

Senator Bruce C. Ennis (D-14)

(302) 744-4310

bruce.ennis@state.de.us

 

Senator Bethany A. Hall-Long (D-10)

(302) 744-4286

bethany.hall-long@state.de.us

 

Senator Margaret Rose Henry (D-2)

(302) 744-4191

MargaretRose.Henry@state.de.us

 

Senator Gregory F. Lavelle (R-4)

(302) 744-4048

greg.lavelle@state.de.us

 

Senator Robert I. Marshall (D-3)

(302) 744-4168

robert.marshall@state.de.us

 

Senator David B. McBride (D-13)

(302) 744-4167

David.McBride@state.de.us

 

Senator Harris B. McDowell III (D-1)

(302) 744-4147

Harris.McDowell@state.de.us

 

Senator Karen E. Peterson (D-9)

(302) 744-4163

Karen.Peterson@state.de.us

 

Senator F. Gary Simpson (R-18)

(302) 744-4134

gsimpson@udel.edu

 

Senator David P. Sokola (D-8)

(302) 744-4139

David.Sokola@state.de.us;

 

Senator Ernesto B. Lopez (R-6)

(302) 744-4136

Ernesto.Lopez@state.de.us

 

Senator Robert L. Venables Sr. (D-21)

(302) 744-4298

Robert.Venables@state.de.us

 

Comments on this entry are closed.